Cyber Security Technologist Apprenticeship


Firebrand’s Level 4 Cyber Security Technologist (CST) Apprenticeship trains the apprentice to implement a series of technical, procedural and physical controls to monitor, detect and respond to a wide range of cyber security threats.

The apprentice is trained in cyber risk and mitigation, maintaining the confidentiality, integrity and availability of digital data. They will use their skills to feed into policy decisions of a cyber security awareness culture within the business.

The CST standard has 3 distinct options:

  • Cyber Security Engineer designs, develops and implements security solutions across a network
  • Cyber Risk Analyst assesses, analyses and mitigates cyber-related risk
  • Cyber Defender and Responder configures and monitors security systems and responds to incidents/security breaches

Through our Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) , Learning Mentors (LMs) and industry-leading instructors, learners will work across all sectors and security departments, assisting in monitoring and controlling of cyber security risks.

Firebrand deliver through a blended framework of Residential and Online Classroom learning, based on our Lecture, Lab and Review methodology. Your apprentice will be supplemented support from our SMEs, get full access to an e-learning platform that covers all areas of cyber security, as well as over 5000 courses on other relevant topics to business.


This apprenticeship is ideal if you’re interested in:

  • Embarking on a cyber security career
  • Developing your knowledge and understanding of key concepts and techniques




This is a Level 4 Apprenticeship.

Professional Recognition

Completion of the Apprenticeship enables learners to apply to the Level 6 Cyber Security Degree programme.


24 months total: 20 months Practical, 4 months EPA .


On this accelerated programme, you'll learn the following knowledge and skills:

  • Networking fundamentals
  • Network security
  • Cyber Security fundamentals
  • Threat, Vulnerability and Risk assessment
  • Operating System security
  • Cryptography
  • Information Security and Management Frameworks
  • Access control systems
  • Security Policies


Before attending this accelerated apprenticeship, you should have:

  • A minimum of 5 GCSEs or A-Levels, a level 3 qualification (apprenticeship or BTEC in a relatable subject) or relevant experience and/or an aptitude test
  • An existing qualification at the same or higher level than this apprenticeship in a similar subject

STEM subjects would also be beneficial to your application.

End Point Assessment

All Apprenticeships end with the End Point Assessment (EPA). This is completed by a third party, the End Point Assessment Organisation (EPAO). The EPA encompasses the evaluation of all of the work completed throughout the duration of the Apprenticeship.

For the Level 4 Cyber Security Technologist Apprenticeship, the EPA consists of:

  • A Professional Discussion underpinned by portfolio
  • Scenario Demonstration with questioning
  • A Project Report
  • A Knowledge Test

The apprentice will only enter the EPA ‘Gateway’ once the Employer is content that the apprentice is working at or above the occupational standard. In making this decision, the in-work mentor may take advice from Firebrand, but the decision must ultimately be made by them.

The EPAO determines when all other Gateway requirements have been met, and the EPA period will only commence once the EPAO has confirmed this.

The EPA assessment period in Gateway can be anything from 4 weeks to 6 months.

Check out the EPA Fact sheet for more information on the Cyber Security Technologist EPA Plan.

Progression Plan

On completion of the Level 4 Cyber Security Technologist Apprenticeship, progression routes available to learners include:

  • Level 6 Digital and Technology Solutions Professional (Integrated Degree)
  • Level 6 Cyber security technical professional (Integrated Degree)


On successful completion of the programme, you'll have the opportunity to gain the following qualifications:

  • CompTIA Network+
  • CompTIA Security+
  • EC-Council Certified Network Defender (CND)

Latest Reviews from our students