Hcissp Update 2019

Introducing the Updated HCISPP for 2019

Why the new HCISPP certification is the best cyber security certification for the health industry.

The HealthCare Information Security Protection Practitioner (HCISPP) is the most respected certification that teaches you how best to protect healthcare organisations and sensitive data against potential threats.

Healthcare IT is a growing domain within the IT industry. With the HCISPP, you’ll gain the expertise to protect sensitive healthcare information, improve patient quality of care by recognising the risks and potential consequences of exposed data - all using the proper techniques.

The risk of privacy and security to personal health information has become a globally recognised issue. In the United States in 2018, 11.5 million people had their personal health records exposed.

In the UK, the drive towards electronic patient records and a paperless NHS makes healthcare cyber security even more of a necessity.

Despite the increase of cyber threats to the NHS, human error is still the leading cause of data leaks. HCISPP ensures there is little to no room for this. Organisations in turn are seeking certified professions with the skill set to properly protect data and train employees.

The demand for certified professionals with the skill set to protect sensitive information is now higher than ever.

Hcispp Logo


What’s new?

(ISC)² have updated the HCISPP to maintain it's high standard. The modifications are made based on an extensive, methodical process that (ISC)² uses to routinely to update all certifications.

The new HCISPP and now spans seven domains instead of six. These changes will go into effect from the 1st September 2019 and the updated course materials will be available from the 1st November 2019.

The HCISPP domains:
  • Healthcare Industry (12%)
  • Information Governance in Healthcare (5%)
  • Information Technologies in Healthcare (8%)
  • Regulatory and Standards Environment (15%)
  • Privacy and Security in Healthcare (25%)
  • Risk Management and Risk Assessment (20%)
  • Third-Party Risk Management (15%)

How do I get HCISPP certified?

If you're thinking of getting certified, it helps to have 2 years of work experience in one or more of the seven domains of the HCISPP Core Body of Knowledge - that includes security, compliance and privacy. Legal experience can be substituted for compliance and information management experience can be substituted for privacy, but one year should be in the healthcare industry.

If you want to get HCISPP certified fast, take Firebrand's accelerated all-inclusive HCISPP course.

You'll train with the best - Firebrand won the (ISC)² Official Training Provider Recognition Award 2018. You'll also benefit from official instructors, labs and courseware in Firebrand’s distraction-free environment. Get certified in just 3 days.

Firebrand Official Isc2